Healthy is the new black.

I’ve always struggled with self-image.  My self-confidence was often wrapped up in the opinions of others.  I’ve had many ups and downs.  With that being said…

Not too long ago, I made a decision.  I decision to take care of myself, first and foremost.  My happiness (emotional and physical) should be a priority.  I decided to make changes and discover “who” I really am.  Sure, this is probably coming about 20 years too late, but they say you are never too old to chase your dreams.

My dreams are to be healthy, and happy. Spiritually, mentally, physically, and emotionally. To love myself first and to nurture those relationships that support my lifestyle changes, and to surround myself with others that only truly want what is best for me.

It’s not been an easy change, and it’s an on-going battle that I’m climbing.  But, I will succeed.  I’m putting myself first, not because I don’t care and love others, but because I deserve to be at the top of my list.  If I don’t love myself, and aren’t happy with myself when I’m all by myself … how can I expect anyone else to be happy with me and love me the way that I deserve?

Eating healthier and exercising is great.  Sure, the physical benefits are going to pay off — but it’s deeper than that.  It gives me mental and emotional growth… and ultimately happiness.

And isn’t that what we are all searching for anyway?

~CS

 

 

Leave a Reply

